

State Capitol 600 E Boulevard Ave Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

April 29, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Wednesday, April 29th at 9:00 a.m. CT., via Conference Call, originated from State Captiol, Fort Union room, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND, 58505.

Chair Hacker called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Nick Hacker, Chair

Mr. Kaleb Dschaak

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Don Morton

Dr. Debora Dragseth, Faculty Adviser

Dr. Casey Ryan, Vice Chair

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Ms. Jill Louters

Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU

Dr. John Miller, President, WSC

Dr. Jerry Migler, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. John Richman, President, NDSCS

Dr. Dean Bresciani, President, NDSU

Board Consent (items 2 - 7)

2. March 26, 2020, Meeting Minutes

SBHE Audit Committee

3. Transition Plan / FY21 Audit Plan

SBHE Governance

- 4. Chancellor's Performance Evaluation
- 5. Amend <u>SBHE 2020 Meeting</u> Schedule

SBHE Research Committee

6. Creation Research Sub-Committee of Research

SBHE Budget and Finance Committee

7. Ra tify Chancellor's interim authorization, to the extent permitted by NDCC 15-12.1-17.6, for NDSU to increase the SBHE project authorization for <u>a Seed Cleaning Facility at the</u> Williston REC in Williston, ND, from \$725,000 to \$1,475,500.

Mihalick moved, Ryan seconded, to approve consent agenda items, 2 - 7.

Mihalick, Ryan, Morton, Louters, Neset, Dschaak, and Hacker voted yes.

8. NDSU Science Hall Naming

Ryan moved, Mihalick seconded, to approve NDSU to <u>name NDSU Science Hall (formerly referred to as Dunbar II)</u> as Sugihara Hall in honor of Dr. James M. Sugihara as per SBHE Policy 902.12.

Morton, Louters, Neset, Dschaak, Mihalick, Ryan, and Hacker voted yes.

9. NDUS Capital Project Resolution

Mihalick moved, Ryan seconded, (1) approve the attached resolution <u>authorizing North Dakota Bonding Authority</u> to issue notes and bonds to finance the construction of higher education projects authorized by the Sixty-sixth Legislative Assembly, and (2) authorize the execution of related documents necessary for financing the projects.

Neset, Dschaak, Morton, Louters, Mihalick, Ryan, and Hacker voted yes.

10. Tenure Requests

Ms. Lisa Johnson reviewed the <u>tenure</u> requests.

Louters moved, Ryan seconded, to approve tenure requests as presented.

Louters, Mihalick, Ryan, Morton, Neset, Dschaak, and Hacker voted yes.

11. SBARE

Chancellor Hagerott presented the <u>proposal to appoint John Dhuyvetter</u> to a four-year term on the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education beginning JD0 g76 9.916, 2020

12. REAFFRM Policies - 1st Reading, Waive 2nd, and Final Adoption Ms. Karol Riedman reviewed the following policies for the Board to consider reaffirmation:

600' s:

a. Policy 609 Communications Proficiency

Raditix(anto)ria(x6)q7x1187118x4v1000q83pxixxix8x41Q1111x6tx18242018(top)x6(100)d5930q)0106x2x5/921E=79,000810/06991.2601611-20109217EV86B54F6

- c. Policy 606.1 Classification -- Higher Education Employees
- d. Policy 607.0 Application of Human Resource Policy Manual; Compensation and Benefits
- e. Policy 616 Career & Technical Program Instructor Certifications Standards

Louters moved, Ryan seconded, to approve 1st reading, waive 2nd and final adoption to re-affirm policies 609, 604.3, 606.1, 607.0, and 616.

Dschaak, Neset, Morton, Louters, Ryan, Mihalick, and Hacker voted yes.

Ms. Tammy Dolan and Ms. Lisa Johnosn reviewed the following policies, items 13(a-d), for Board consideration to ratify the Chancellor's interim approval:

13. Ratification of Chancellor Interim Approval to Waive following Policies due 92 reDfnP