

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

November 17, 2021, Meeting Minutes, Research and Governance Committee

The State Board of Higher Education Research and Governance Committee met on Wednesday, November 17th, at 3:15 p.m. CT, via teams and/or conference call.

Co-chairs Ryan and Bye called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. CT.

SBHE Research Committee members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Co-chair

Ms. Danita Bye, Co-chair

Dr. John Warford

Dr. Legerski, SBHE Faculty Adviser

Mr. Jeffry Volk (invited to participate)

NDUS staff participating:

Chancellor Mark Hagerott, NDUS

Ms. Dina Cashman, NDUS

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Ms. Karol Riedman, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, NDUS

Others Participating:

President Andrew Armacost, UND

Dr. John Mihalich, UND

President Dean Bresciani, NDSU

Dr. Collen Fitzgerald, NDSU

Dr. David DeMuth, VCSU

Ms. Karol Riedman, NDUS

Mr. James Leiman

Ms. Diana D'Amico Pawlewicz

Dr. Kelly Rusch, NDSU/EPSCoR

Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

1. Agenda

Warford moved, Bye seconded, to approve the agenda as presented.

Bye, Warford, and Ryan voted yes.

2. Meeting Minutes

Warford moved, Bye seconded, to approve the October 20, 2021, meeting minutes.

Bye, Warford, and Ryan voted yes.

Research Items

3. INBRE Update

Dr. Mihelich stated that they are continuing to work through the re-organization in the structure and processes to better manage the grant(s) statewide; he will provide additional information at the next committee meeting.

4. EPSCoR Update

Dr. Fitzgerald