

E-mail: ndus.inquiry@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

March 31, 2022, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Thursday the 31st, at 8:00 a.m. CT., originating from North Dakota State College of Science, Hektner Student Center, The Alley room (lower level), 800 6th Street North, Wahpeton, ND 58076.

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Chair

Ms. Gracie Lian Mr. Tim Mihalick Mr. Jeffry Volk

Dr. Elizabeth Legerski, Faculty Adviser

Dr. Jill Louters, Vice Chair

Mr. Nick Hacker Mr. John Warford Ms. Danita Bye

Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

Dr. Jerry Migler, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, LRSC

Dr. Harvey Link, Interim President, NDSCS

Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC

Mr. Steve Easton, J.D., President, DSU

Dr. Andy Armacost, President, UND

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

NDUS Senior Staff Participating:

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS

Ms. Jane Grinde, NDUS

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, CTS

Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Others Participating:

Mr. Marohl, NDSCS President Search Committee Co-chair NDSCS

Mr. Eric Olson, AG's Office

1. Agenda

Louters moved, Warford seconded, to approve the agenda as presented.

Volk, Mihalick, Hacker, Bye, Lian, Louters, Warford, and Ryan voted yes.

2. Presidential Interviews

NDSCS Presidential Search Co-Chairs, Mr. Jeffry Volk and Mr. Terry Marohl, provided an overview of the search committee's process.

The Board held interviews of the following candidates for the North Dakota State College of Science Presidency:

- Rod L. Flanigan Ph.D
- Jeanine E. Gangeness Ph.D
- Carmen M. Simone Ph.D.

3. Executive Session 11:50 a.m. CT.

Volk moved, Hacker seconded, to enter executive session to consider finalist(s) for the North Dakota State College of Science presidency and/or contract terms. The executive session shall be limited to members of the SBHE, invited NDUS office staff, AGB Consultants, Search Committee Co-chair, and NDUS legal counsel.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 15-10-17(1)(d), 44-04-19.1(9), and 44-04-19.2.

Bye, Lian, Louters, Volk, Mihalick, Hacker, Warford, and Ryan voted yes.

Executive Session began at 12:30 p.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Chair Dr. Jill Louters, Vice Chair

Ms. Gracie Lian Mr. Nick Hacker Mr. Tim Mihalick Mr. John Warford Mr. Jeffry Volk Ms. Danita Bye

Dr. Elizabeth Legerski, Faculty Adviser Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Other participating;

Dr. Mark Hagerott, NDUS

technologies and services Department, effective on his start date as President of NDSCS.

Louters, Volk, Mihalick, Hacker, Bye, Lian, Warford, and Ryan voted yes.

Board Consent (5 – 11)

5. February 23, 2022, Meeting Minutes

SBHE Budget and Finance Committee

- 6. DSU Ratify Chancellor's approval of the <u>transfer of \$268,862, \$500,000, and \$500,000, respectively</u>, of NDUS System Office Tier II and Tier III carryover capital building funds to the DSU capital building fund appropriation line
- 7. MiSU Ratify Chancellor's approval of the <u>transfer of \$572,801 and \$500,000</u>, respectively, of NDUS System Office Tier II and Tier III carryover capital building funds to the MiSU capital building fund appropriation line
- 8. 2022-23 Tuition Rate Change Request
- 9. 2022-23 Room, Board and Fee Rates

SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee

10. NDSU - Center for Entrepreneurship and Family Business

SBHE Audit Committee

11. Internal Audit Executive Survey

Warford moved, Bye seconded, to approve the consent agenda, items 5 - 11.

Lian, Hacker, Bye, Volk, Mihalick, Warford, Louters and Ryan voted yes.

12. SBHE Meeting Schedule Changes

Chair Ryan.... SBHE Meeting Schedule Changes

- May 25 and 26th Retreat and Meeting Bismarck State College
- June 30 Dakota College of Bottineau

Mihalick moved, Bye seconded, to approve the proposed SBHE annual schedule changes, as presented.

Hacker, Bye, Volk, Lian, Mihalick, Warford, Louters, and Ryan voted yes.

13. Honorary Degrees

Ms. Lisa Johnson presented nominations for Honorary Degrees from Dakota College of Bottineau, Dickinson State University, and University of North Dakota.

Louters moved, Warford seconded, to approve Honorary Degrees, as presented.

Louters, Lian, Hacker, Mihalick, Warford, Bye, Volk, and Ryan voted yes

14. Policy 605.1, Academic Freedom and Tenure; Academic Appointments

Ms. Lisa Johnson reviewed proposed amendments for 2nd reading of <u>Policy 605.1</u>, Academic Freedom and Tenure; Academic Appointments, no changes made since the 1st reading.

Warford moved, Mihalick seconded, to approve 2nd reading and final adoption of Policy 605.1.

Mihalick, Warford, Louters, Lian, Hacker, Bye, Volk, and Ryan voted yes.

SBHE Committee Reports/Updates/Discussion

- 15. SBHE Audit Committee report was provided by Mr. Nick Hacker.16. SBHE Research and Governance Committee report was provided by Dr. Casey Ryan and Ms. Danita Bye.
- 17. SBHE Budget and Finance Committee report was provided by Mr. Tim Mihalick.
- 18. M mi.4 (u)18.6 (t)14-4.63e